File ABW/1/16a - Sextet. Op 16

Identity area

Reference code

GB GB1179 ABW-ABW/1-ABW/1/16a


Sextet. Op 16


  • 1956 (Creation)

Level of description


Extent and medium

1 item

Context area

Archival history

Immediate source of acquisition or transfer

Content and structure area

Scope and content

Previously ABW/1/49. Autograph MS of 16 pages, dated October 1956. Parts for flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, horn and piano. The first performance was given on 23 Jan 1957 by the Manchester Wind Ensemble at Stretford Library. William Morris - flute; Michael Winfield - oboe; Leonard Foster - clarinet; Charles Cracknell - bassoon; Maurice Handford - horn; Rayson Whalley - piano. The piece was commissioned by Maurice Handford, 1958. See also ABW/1/16b.

Appraisal, destruction and scheduling


System of arrangement

Conditions of access and use area

Conditions governing access


Conditions governing reproduction

Language of material

Script of material

Language and script notes

Physical characteristics and technical requirements

Finding aids

Allied materials area

Existence and location of originals

Existence and location of copies

Related units of description

Related descriptions

Notes area

Alternative identifier(s)

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Genre access points

Description control area

Description identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation revision deletion




Accession area