File PJBE/11/Mussorgsky - Pictures from an Exhibition arr. Elgar Howarth

Identity area

Reference code

GB GB1179 PJBE-PJBE/11-PJBE/11/Mussorgsky


Pictures from an Exhibition arr. Elgar Howarth


  • 1977-1979 (Creation)

Level of description


Extent and medium

approx. 30 items

Context area

Name of creator


Biographical history

Elgar Howarth (1935-) was educated at the University of Manchester and the Royal Manchester College of Music. He was one of the Manchester Five or New Music Manchester, a group of RMCM students dedicated to performing new music. He was a member of the Philip Jones Brass Ensemble and is responsible for some of the Ensemble's popular arrangements. He has also worked with many leading orchestras both in the United Kingdom and abroad.

Archival history

Immediate source of acquisition or transfer

Content and structure area

Scope and content

Original parts. Includes two copies of original piano version (publ. Edizione Ricordi, and publ. Wilhelm Hansen Edition), the latter with Howarth's annotations. Also published Chester Music (Just Brass) score only with 3 correction notes. Ensemble 5.Flugel.4.3.Euph.2.Perc (2)

Appraisal, destruction and scheduling


System of arrangement

Conditions of access and use area

Conditions governing access

Conditions governing reproduction

Language of material

Script of material

Language and script notes

Physical characteristics and technical requirements

Finding aids

Allied materials area

Existence and location of originals

Existence and location of copies

Related units of description

Related descriptions

Notes area

Alternative identifier(s)

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Genre access points

Description control area

Description identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation revision deletion




Accession area