Alberni String Quartet (fl.1960s-present)

Identity area

Type of entity

Corporate body

Authorized form of name

Alberni String Quartet (fl.1960s-present)

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence



The Alberni Quartet (fl.1960s-present) is a renowned British string quartet. They were based in Harlow, Essex where they became established in the 1960s as the town's "quartet in residence", and by the mid-1970s had become world-renowned. Their debut in the Carnegie Hall was well received in the New York Times, and they received positive reviews of their recordings of Schumann's piano quintet, Schubert's string quintet and Brahms' string sextets numbers one and two. The Alberni Quartet are now based in South-West England, and have been Quartet-in-Residence at Cedars Hall, Wells.


Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Access points area


Control area

Authority record identifier


Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion

S.Wickham (2003), J.Fitton (2004), Natasha Dolg (2021)




Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC