Item FW/1/12 - A Rural Suite, Charles Woodhouse, arranged by Eric Ball

Identity area

Reference code

GB GB1179 FW-FW/1-FW/1/12


A Rural Suite, Charles Woodhouse, arranged by Eric Ball


  • 1963 (Creation)

Level of description


Extent and medium

1 item

Context area

Name of creator


Administrative history

Boosey & Hawkes originated from the 1930 merger between two music publishers and instrument manufacturers: Boosey & Company, founded in the 1760s, and Hawkes & Son, founded in 1865. Following the merger, the new company rapidly became a significant force on the international publishing scene, becoming the publisher of Bartók, Kodály and Delius, as well as signing the then unknown Benjamin Britten in 1935. Ralph Hawkes moved to the USA during the war, adding Stravinsky, Copland and Martinu to the list. They also signed a contract with Richard Strauss in 1943 for all his operatic works and subsequently for all his late works, as well as buying Serge Koussevitzky's Édition Russe and Gutheil catalogues in 1947, thus securing many of the most important copyrights of the century, including Stravinsky's ballets and The Rite of Spring and Petrushka, and works by Prokofieff, Rachmaninoff and Ravel. As its publishing portfolio grew, Boosey & Hawkes added to its London and New York offices further international offices including an Australian company in 1934 (closed in 2004) and another in Germany in 1949. The company has continued to publish the works of major composers including Sir Peter Maxwell Davies, Elliott Carter, Louis Andriessen, Steve Reich, H M Górecki, Sir Harrison Birtwistle and John Adams, and a younger generation of composers including Unsuk Chin, Magnus Lindberg, James MacMillan and Mark-Anthony Turnage. In 1996, Boosey & Hawkes acquired the distinguished German publishing house, Bote & Bock, which has a catalogue of works by figures such as Richard Strauss, Pietro Mascagni, Max Reger, Boris Blacher, Gottfried von Einem and Isang Yun. In 2006 Boosey & Hawkes in New York launched a jazz catalogue, signing Chick Corea, David Benoit and Andrew Hill, and taking on the representation of Second Floor Music, a historic jazz standards catalogue. In 2003 the instrument division of the company was sold was sold, leaving Boosey & Hawkes focusing solely on music publishing.

Archival history

Immediate source of acquisition or transfer

Content and structure area

Scope and content

Full Score. Boosey and Hawkes Music Publishers. The score is stamped with the message, "This work has been commissioned by the Daily Herald for the 1964 series of area qua[lifing?].... ?[text faded] It is hoped that other Contest Organisers will recognise this fact prior to 30 June 1964."

Appraisal, destruction and scheduling


System of arrangement

Conditions of access and use area

Conditions governing access

Conditions governing reproduction

Language of material

Script of material

Language and script notes

Physical characteristics and technical requirements

Finding aids

Allied materials area

Existence and location of originals

Existence and location of copies

Related units of description

Related descriptions

Notes area

Alternative identifier(s)

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Genre access points

Description control area

Description identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation revision deletion




Accession area